Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Oulton BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

This year sees the closest ever gap between the top four riders in the Showdown (14 points)

With their victories at Silverstone, Glenn Irwin and Dan Linfoot became the 45th and 46th riders respectively to win a BSB race.

Linfoot’s race win moved him on to a total of 13 podiums, the same number achieved by Cal Crutchlow.


Michael Laverty’s second place finish in the third race at Silverstone moves him onto 38 BSB podiums, the same number as Eurosport commentator James Haydon.

Fifth place in the same race was Jakub Smrz’s best ever BSB result.

With the Showdown spots now finalised and points reset, Shane Byrne leads the championship on 532 points followed by Leon Haslam (526), Josh Brookes (522), Jake Dixon (518), Peter Hickman (509) and Jason O’Halloran (503).

Just 29 points covers the leading six riders, the third smallest gap since the Showdown was introduced in 2010.

At 21 years old, Dixon is the youngest rider ever to make the Showdown.

With Hickman and O’Halloran crashing out of the third race at Silverstone, no riders have scored points in all of the races.

Leon Haslam has failed to score a point in the last four races with Byrne only scoring in three of the last seven races.

Nine riders have so far won races in 2017 with Byrne having the most on 5 followed by Haslam (4), Brookes, Dixon and Luke Mossey (all 2) and James Ellison, Hickman, Linfoot and Irwin (all 1).

Byrne has the most podiums so far in 2017 (10) followed by Haslam (7), Brookes (6), Dixon (6), Mossey (5), Christian Iddon and Ellison (4) and Hickman, O’Halloran and Irwin (all 3).


14 riders have stood on the podium so far in 2017.

The current Oulton Park lap record is held by Brookes at 1’34.483s (102.057mph), set in 2015.

Byrne has set the fastest ever lap recorded at Oulton Park with a time of 1’33.933s during qualifying in September 2016.

Ryuichi Kiyonari has the most wins at Oulton (12) followed by Byrne (11), Steve Hislop (7), Haslam (6), Tommy Hill (5) and John Reynolds (5).


Byrne (32) has taken the most podiums at Oulton Park followed by John Reynolds (23), Brookes (22), Michael Rutter (15), Kiyonari and Ellison (both 14) and Haslam (13).

Haslam (Kawasaki) and Byrne (Ducati) shared the wins at Oulton in May this year with Mossey, Irwin and O’Halloran also on the podium.

Byrne scored the most points in May (45) followed by O’Halloran (29), Mossey and Irwin (27), Haslam (25) and Iddon (21).

Of the six Showdown contenders, Jake Dixon scored the least amount of points in May with just six.

Yamaha’s last win at Oulton Park came in 2015 with Brookes with the Australian also claiming the last win for Suzuki, back in 2013.

Honda last won at Oulton Park in May 2013 with Alex Lowes.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram