Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Moto2 Catalunya, Race: Ogura Wins Catalan Race of Attrition

Gold and Goose

Ai Ogura took victory in a dramatic Moto2 Catalunya Grand Prix, the Japanese winning for the first time with Boscoscuro.

It was Ogura’s MT Helmets MSI teammate, Sergio Garcia, who made the holeshot, but he only led for two-and-a-half laps. Fermin Aldeguer had gone backwards to fourth at the start, but was able to come through to second place by lap three, and then he passed Garcia for the lead at turn 10 on that same lap.

Aldeguer tried to break immediately, and had a second over Garcia by lap eight. Five laps later, though, and Garcia was back on Aldeguer’s rear wheel.


A pass from Garcia looked imminent, when Aldeguer picked up a long-lap penalty for track limits. He then crashed when serving the penalty.

Fermin Aldeguer leads Sergio Garcia, 2024 Moto2 Catalan Grand Prix. Credit: Gold and Goose.

That put Garcia in the lead, and the immediate assumption was that the win was his to lose, but by now Ai Ogura - who started 10th, rose to third off the line, then dropped to sixth before getting back into the podium fight - was less than two seconds behind.

Not only that, but the #79 had much better pace, over half-a-second faster than Garcia.

Ogura, with better grip, passed Garcia at turn one on lap 18, and went unchallenged to the flag for his first win since switching to MT Helmets MSI from Honda Team Asia and from Kalex to Boscoscuro.

Garcia took second place in an MT Helmets MSI 1-2, ahead of Jake Dixon, who took his first podium and first points of 2024 in third place.

Jeremy Alcoba put on a late charge - another to conserve his tyres better than those around him - to take his best Moto2 finish of fourth place, and Senna Agius also took a personal best finish of fifth. Albert Arenas was sixth, ahead of Marcos Ramirez and Alonso Lopez, the latter being the rider who perhaps managed his tyres the worst. Joe Roberts was ninth after a long-lap penalty, and Tony Arbolino was docked positions after the race for not serving a long-lap penalty he was issued in the final three laps and rounded out the top 10.

The Moto2 field was the largest its been all year in Barcelona with 32 starters. Only 23 finished, though, with KTM Ajo’s Celestino Vietti, Bo Bendsneyder’s replacement at GasUp Daniel Munoz, Portugal winner Aron Canet, and title favourite Fermin Aldeguer all among the fallers.

After the race, Marcos Ramirez was disqualified for using one of the tyres of his American Racing teammate, Joe Roberts. That promoted Forward's Jorge Navarro into the top 10, and gave Mario Aji the final point in 15th.

2024 Moto2 Catalan Grand Prix | Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya | Grand Prix Results | Rd 6/21
PosRiderNat.Moto2 TeamManufacturerTiming
1Ai OguraJAPMT Helmets MSIBoscoscuroWIN
2Sergio GarciaESPMT Helmets MSIBoscoscuro3.816
3Jake DixonGBRCFMoto Aspar TeamKalex9.186
4Jeremy AlcobaESPYamaha VR46 Master Camp TeamKalex12.241
5Senna AgiusAUSLiqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GPKalex12.593
6Albert ArenasESPQJ Motor Gresini Moto2Kalex13.666
7Alonso LopezESPSpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro17.676
8Joe RobertsUSAAmerican RacingKalex20.790
9Tony ArbolinoITAElf Marc VDS Racing TeamKalex18.885 (Pen)
10Jorge NavarroESPForward Racing TeamForward21.249
11Zonta van den GoorberghNEDRW Racing GPKalex22.435
12Filip SalacCZEElf Marc VDS Racing TeamKalex23.073
13Jaume MasiaESPPertamina Mandalika Gas Up TeamKalex24.540
14Darryn BinderRSALiqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GPKalex24.747
15Mario AjiINOIdemitsu Honda Team AsiaKalex24.826
16Xavi CardelusANDFantic RacingKalex27.908
17Mattia PasiniITASpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro30.424
18Alex EscrigESPForward Racing TeamForward38.261
19Deniz OncuTURRed Bull KTM AjoKalex38.590
20Xavi ArtigasESPForward Racing TeamForward39.214
21Barry BaltusBELRW Racing GPKalex50.605
22Manuel GonzalezESPQJ Motor Gresini Moto2Kalex2L
DSQMarcos RamirezESPAmerican RacingKalexDSQ
DNFFermin AldeguerESPSpeedUp RacingBoscoscuroDNF
DNFCelestino ViettiITARed Bull KTM AjoKalexDNF
DNFAron CanetESPFantic RacingKalexDNF
DNFDaniel MunozESPPertamina Mandalika Gas Up TeamForwardDNF
DNFIzan GuevaraESPCFMoto Aspar TeamKalexDNF
DNFSomkiat ChantraTHAIdemitsu Honda Team AsiaKalexDNF
DNFDennis FoggiaITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalexDNF
DNFDiogo MoreiraBRAItaltrans Racing TeamKalexDNF
DNFAyumu SasakiJAPYamaha VR46 Master Camp TeamKalexDNF

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram