Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Thailand Moto3, Qualifying | Oncu sneaks Moreira, Sasaki for Buriram pole, Masia seventh

Gold and Goose
Deniz Oncu, Red Bull KTM Ajo, 2023 Moto3, Thailand Moto3, Buriram, action [Gold & Goose]

Deniz Oncu upheld his bid for a late charge at the 2023 Moto3 World Championship title as he claimed pole position for the Thailand Moto3, while points’ leader Jaume Masia could only manage seventh.

Following victory last time out in Australia, the Turk comes into the Buriram round - one of four remaining on this year’s schedule - with a slim chance of success, some 37 points behind Masia.

However, after claiming his third win of the season by passing for the lead within sight of the chequered flag once again, Oncu set himself up for a simpler Sunday run by claiming pole position over Diogo Moreira.


Meaning a 1-2 for the two most recent race winners in Moto3, they will be joined on the front row by Sasaki, the Japanese rider hoping he can finally click off his first win of the 2023 Moto3 season as he attempts to bridge the slim four point gap to Masia in front.

Masia, meanwhile, will have work to do from seventh after failing to get his laps hooked up due to yellow flags. He gets underway behind a second row of Collin Veijer, Ryusei Yamanaka and Taiyo Furusato, the latter grabbing sixth despite suffering a late fall.

Of the other title contenders, Daniel Holgado and David Alonso - 22 and 37 points adrift respectively - face an uphill task from 11th and 12th on the grid.

Josh Whatley emerged as the best of the British duo in 21st, while Scott Ogden could only manage 26th

2023 Thailand Moto3 | Chang International Circuit, Buriram | Qualifying Results | Round 17 of 20
Pos.NameNat.TeamMotorcycleLap Time
1Deniz Oncu🇹🇷Red Bull KTM AjoKTM1m 42.061
2Diogo Moreira🇧🇷MT Helmets - MSIKTM1m 42.118
3Ayumu Sasaki🇯🇵Husqvarna IntactGPHusqvarna1m 42.119
4Ryusei Yamanaka🇯🇵GASGAS Aspar M3GasGas1m 42.225
5Collin Veijer🇳🇱Husqvarna IntactGPHusqvarna1m 42.318
6Taiyo Furusato🇯🇵Honda Team AsiaHonda1m 42.471
7Jaume Masia🇪🇦Leopard RacingHonda1m 42.474
8Adrian Fernandez🇪🇦Leopard RacingHonda1m 42.501
9Jose Antonio Rueda🇪🇦Red Bull KTM AjoKTM1m 42.523
10David Munoz🇪🇦BOE MotorsportsKTM1m 42.531
11Daniel Holgado🇪🇦Red Bull KTM Tech3KTM1m 42.541
12David Alonso🇨🇴GASGAS Aspar M3GasGas1m 42.585
13Matteo Bertelle🇮🇹Rivacold Snipers TeamHonda1m 42.618
14Joel Kelso🇦🇺CFMoto PruestelGPCFMoto1m 42.695
15Stefano Nepa🇮🇹Angeluss MTA TeamKTM1m 42.951
16Ivan Ortola🇪🇦Angeluss MTA TeamKTM1m 43.065
17Riccardo Rossi🇮🇹SIC58 Squadra CorseHonda1m 43.108
18Nicola Fabio Carraro🇮🇹Rivacold Snipers TeamHonda1m 44.526
19Xavier Artigas🇪🇦CFMoto PruestelGPCFMoto1m 43.103
20Syarifuddin Azman🇲🇾MT Helmets - MSIKTM1m 43.483
21Joshua Whatley🇬🇧VisionTrack RacingHonda1n 43.588
22Kaito Toba🇯🇵SIC58 Squadra CorseHonda1m 43.603
23Vicente Perez🇪🇦BOE MotorsportsKTM1m 43.804
24Filippo Farioli🇮🇹Red Bull KTM Tech3KTM1m 43.905
25Mario Suryo Aji🇮🇩Honda Team AsiaHonda1m 43.948
26Scott Ogden🇬🇧VisionTrack RacingHonda1m 44.051
27Tatchakorn Buasri🇹🇭Honda Team AsiaHonda1m 44.520
28David Salvador🇪🇦CIP Green PowerCFMoto1m 44.566
29Krittpat Keankum🇹🇭BOE MotorsportsKTM1m 45.158
30Lorenzo Fellon🇫🇷CIP Green PowerKTMNo Time

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram