Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


2024 WorldSBK Entry List Confirmed: Six Brits head up finalised 23-strong field

Gold & Goose
2023 WorldSBK, Imola, action, start, group, pack [credit - Gold & Goose]

The 2024 WorldSBK Championship entry list has been officially revealed with 23 riders confirmed to line-up next season, among them six British riders across five different manufacturers.

While a steady trickle of announcements have helped to piece together the puzzle of which riders and teams will line-up in Australia towards the end of February, this is the first time the FIM has revealed a formal entry list.

As it turns out, there are no surprise late additions to the line-up, which confirms all-but-three teams will return for 2024 with Kawasaki customers TPR by Vinales Racing and Orelac Racing both dropping out.


British flag flies high for 2024 WorldSBK

However, the series does gain one new entry in Marc VDS Racing, which adds WorldSBK to a portfolio that already includes an entry into the Moto2 World Championship with Sam Lowes on a satellite Ducati Panigale V4 R.

He is one of six British riders primed to race in 2024, not least his twin brother Alex Lowes, who will remain with the factory Kawasaki Racing Team next season. His former team-mate Jonathan Rea, meanwhile, is a high-profile mover having swapped to PATA PROMETEON Yamaha in place of BMW-bound Toprak Razgatlioglu.

Elsewhere, Scott Redding and Bradley Ray will also be back in action next season, the former still with BMW but moving over to the Bonovo Action satellite team, while the latter gets a proper full campaign with Motoxracing Yamaha.

Finally, Tarran Mackenzie will make his long-awaited WorldSBK debut in 2024 after being promoted by the Petronas MIE Racing team to ride one of its satellite Honda CBR1000RR-R entries.

Who is sticking, who is twisting?

Of the familiar favourites, Alvaro Bautista will target a third consecutive WorldSBK title with Aruba.it Racing Ducati in 2024, though it鈥檚 open as to where his competition will come from.

Indeed, his closest rivals for the past two seasons - Razgatlioglu and Rea - will try again next year from a different angle, with the former having joined BMW and the latter, as mentioned, doing so from Yamaha.

In Rea鈥檚 place at Kawasaki comes independent standout Axel Bassani in his first factory-backed opportunity, while the likes of Michael van der Mark at ROKiT BMW and Andrea Locatelli at PATA PROMETEON Yamaha, plus re-signed Honda riders Xavi Vierge and Iker Lecuona make up the remainder of the factory challengers.

Among the satellite stars, Danilo Petrucci could be a threat for wins in his second season with Barni Spark Racing, while Michael Ruben Rinaldi will be keen to prove Motocorsa Racing won鈥檛 miss Bassani as he prepares to go privateer for 2024. GYTR GRT Yamaha will also enter into a second season with talented duo Dominique Aegerter and Remy Gardner.

Elsewhere, one of the last riders to be confirmed is Tito Rabat, who will get a full season with Puccetti Kawasaki.


Who is new?

Including Mackenzie and Lowes, there will be five rookies making their WorldSBK debuts in 2024.

Highest-profile of these is Andrea Iannone, who makes his long-awaited return to competitive action after more than four years out serving a doping suspension. In what is his first deal since his ban came to an end earlier this month, Iannone will line-up on one of four satellite Ducati entries with Team Go Eleven.

Elsewhere, Niccolo Bulega gets his big break in WorldSBK after his dominant turn in WorldSSP, the former VR46 Academy rider lining up alongside Bautista in the title-winning Aruba.it Ducati squad.

Finally, Adam Norrodin will join Mackenzie in stepping up to WorldSBK from WorldSSP with the Petronas MIE Racing Honda team.

2024 FIM WorldSBK Entry List [Provisional Permanent]

2024 WorldSBK Rider Line-up [Permanent Provisional]
1Alvaro Bautista馃嚜馃嚘Aruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R鈴革笍
11Nicolo Bulega馃嚠馃嚬Aruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R馃啎
65Jonathan Rea馃嚞馃嚙PATA PROMETEON YamahaYamaha R1馃攢
55Andrea Locatelli馃嚠馃嚬PATA PROMETEON YamahaYamaha R1鈴革笍
54Toprak Razgatlioglu馃嚬馃嚪ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M 1000 RR馃攢
60Michael van der Mark馃嚦馃嚤ROKiT BMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M 1000 RR鈴革笍
47Axel Bassani馃嚠馃嚬Kawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR馃攢
22Alex Lowes馃嚞馃嚙Kawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR鈴革笍
99Xavi Vierge馃嚜馃嚘Team HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R鈴革笍
7Iker Lecuona馃嚜馃嚘Team HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R鈴革笍
9Danilo Petrucci馃嚠馃嚬BARNI Spark RacingDucati Panigale V4 R鈴革笍
14Sam Lowes馃嚞馃嚙Elf Marc VDS Racing TeamDucati Panigale V4 R馃啎
45Scott Redding馃嚞馃嚙Bonovo ActionBMW M 1000 RR馃攢
31Garrett Gerloff馃嚭馃嚥Bonovo ActionBMW M 1000 RR鈴革笍
77Dominique Aegerter馃嚚馃嚟GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK TeamYamaha R1鈴革笍
87Remy Gardner馃嚘馃嚭GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK TeamYamaha R1鈴革笍
29Andrea Iannone馃嚠馃嚬Team Go ElevenDucati Panigale V4 R馃啎
21Michael Ruben Rinaldi馃嚠馃嚬Team Motocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R馃攢
27Adam Norrodin馃嚥馃嚲PETRONAS MIE RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R馃啎
95Tarran Mackenzie馃嚞馃嚙PETRONAS MIE RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R馃啎
28Bradley Ray馃嚞馃嚙Yamaha Motoxracing WorldSBK TeamYamaha R1鈴革笍
5Philipp Oettl馃嚛馃嚜GMT94Yamaha R1馃攢
53Tito Rabat馃嚜馃嚘Kawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR馃攢

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram