Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Australian Moto2, Qualifying | Alderguer maintains Phillip Island dominance with clear pole

Gold & Goose
Fermin Aldeguer, SpeedUp Racing, Boscoscuro, 2023 Moto2, Australian Moto2, Phillip Island, action [Gold & Goose]

Fermin Aldeguer came good on his rapid pace during free practice to secure a dominant pole position for the Australian Moto2 at Phillip Island.

The Spaniard came into qualifying as the hot favourite for pole after topping all three preceding Practice sessions by a comfortable margin over the competition.

And so it proved again when it mattered, the teenager upping his standard again during the crucial Q2 session as he led the way with a 1m 31.888s lap. It marks his second career Moto2 pole position, following on from the first he achieved in Argentina last season.


A dominant showing by the Boscoscuro rider, Aldeguer enjoyed a commanding +0.4s advantage over a competition headed up by Aron Canet, who will again go for that elusive maiden Moto2 win from a front row shared too with Alonso Lopez, who consolidated SpeedUp's excellent day by joining his team-mate at the front of the field.

Joe Roberts produced one of his strongest qualifying performances of the season to place his Italtrans bike fourth on the grid, ahead of Pedro Acosta, the championship leader facing a task to grind out another victory from fifth on the grid but well placed to extend his overall lead with main rival Tony Arbolino behind him in eighth.

Between them sits Jake Dixon in sixth and Sergio Garcia in seventh, while Darryn Binder and Manuel Gonzalez complete the top ten.

2023 Australian Moto2 | Phillip Island Circuit | Qualifying Results | Round 16 of 20
Pos.RiderNat.TeamChassisLap Time
1Fermin Aldeguer🇪🇦SpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro1m 31.888
2Aron Canet🇪🇦Pons Wegow Los40Kalex1m 32.230
3Alonso Lopez🇪🇦SpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro1m 32.572
4Joe Roberts🇺🇸Italtrans Racing TeamKalex1m 32.584
5Pedro Acosta🇪🇦Red Bull KTM AjoKalex1m 32.633
6Jake Dixon🇬🇧GasGas AsparKalex1m 32.679
7Sergio Garcia🇪🇦Pons Wegow Los40Kalex1m 32.769
8Tony Arbolino🇮🇹Elf Marc VDS RacingKalex1m 32.888
9Darryn Binder🇿🇦Husqvarna IntactGPKalex1m 32.946
10Manuel Gonzalez🇪🇦Yamaha VR46 MasterCampKalex1m 32.954
11Marcos Ramirez🇪🇦American RacingKalex1m 33.052
12Sam Lowes🇬🇧Elf Marc VDS RacingKalex1m 33.070
13Celestino Vietti🇮🇹Fantic RacingKalex1m 33.296
14Albert Arenas🇪🇦Red Bull KTM AjoKalex1m 33.339
15Barry Baltus🇧🇪Fieten Olie Racing GPKalex1m 33.363
16Somkiat Chantra🇹🇭IDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex1m 33.370
17Zonta van den Goorbergh🇳🇱Fieten Olie Racing GPKalex1m 33.561
18Filip Salac🇨🇿QJMOTOR GresiniKalex1m 33.629
19Jeremy Alcoba🇪🇦QJMOTOR GresiniKalex1m 33.297
20Ai Ogura🇯🇵IDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex1m 33.340
21Dennis Foggia🇮🇹Italtrans Racing TeamKalex1m 33.451
22Bo Bendsneyder🇳🇱Pertamina SAG TeamKalex1m 33.454
23Izan Guevara🇪🇦GasGas AsparKalex1m 33.848
24Lukas Tulovic🇩🇪Husqvarna IntactGPKalex1m 33.917
25Kohta Nozane🇯🇵Yamaha VR46 MasterCampKalex1m 33.940
26Taiga Hada🇯🇵Pertamina SAG TeamKalex1m 33.997
27Alberto Surra🇮🇹Forward TeamForward1m 34.053
28Mattia Casadei🇮🇹Fantic RacingKalex1m 34.055
29Rory Skinner🇬🇧American RacingKalex1m 34.368
30Alex Escrig🇮🇹Forward TeamForward1m 34.710

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram