Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


British MotoE Silverstone - RACE 2 | Casadei becomes seventh different winner of year

Gold and Goose

Mattia Casadei secured his first win of the 2023 MotoE World Championship with a gritty performance in torrid conditions during Race 2 at Silverstone.

The Italian got the jump from the opening moments to secure a lead he’d control from lights-to-flag, Casadei making the most of the clearer vision ahead to maintain an advantage over Eric Granado.

Following on from Randy Krummenacher’s maiden victory in race one, a first trip to the top of the podium for the Pons Racing rider sees him become the seventh different race winner of the year.


>>> UPDATED: 2023 MotoE World Championship Standings <<<

ndeed, it was a fairly comfortable run for Casadei in uncomfortable conditions, despite a keen pursuit from Granado in second place, the LCR rider unable to get a close enough look at slipping up the inside.

As such, Casadei took the flag to strengthen his overall position in the standings, while a double podium at Silverstone ensured a substantial return for the Brazilian.

Though unable to get on terms with the leading pair, the fight for third went to the flag with series leader Jordi Torres being pipped by Casadei’s team-mate Nicholas Spinelli, the Italian securing his first-ever podium in third.

Nevertheless, fourth for Torres allowed him to extend his points’ lead over Matteo Ferrari, whose seventh place means 15 points split the pair heading to Round 6 in Austria.

Ferrari had crossed the line in fifth place but was demoted by a two-second penalty in lieu of a long lap penalty handed out towards the end of the race. That allowed Hector Garzo and Andrea Mantovani to squeeze between himself and his title rival in fifth and sixth.

British MotoE Silverstone | RACE 2 Results

2023 British MotoE | Silverstone, UK | Race 2 Results | Round 5 / 8
1Mattia Casadei🇮🇹HP Pons Los406 Laps
2Eric Granado🇧🇷LCR E-Team+1.108
3Nicholas Spinelli🇮🇹HP Pons Los40+6.775
4Jordi Torres🇪🇦Openbank Aspar Team+6.909
5Hector Garzo🇪🇦Dynavolt Intact GP+7.724
6Andrea Mantovani🇮🇹RNF MotoE Team+9.115
7Matteo Ferrari🇮🇹Felo Gresini MotoE+10.359
8Hikari Okubo🇯🇵Tech3 E-Racing+19.483
9Kevin Manfredi🇮🇹Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse+19.776
10Mika Perez🇪🇦RNF MotoE Team+19.846
11Luca Salvadori🇮🇹Prettl Pramac MotoE+21.055
12Alessio Finello🇮🇹Felo Gresini MotoE+1m 05.854
13Maria Herrera🇪🇦Openbank Aspar Team+1m 06.501
DNFKevin Zannoni🇮🇹Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse
DNFRandy Krummenacher🇨🇭Dynavolt Intact GP
DNFAlessandro Zaccone🇮🇹Tech3 E-Racing
DNFTito Rabat🇪🇦Prettl Pramac MotoE
DNFMiquel Pons🇪🇦LCR E-Team

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram