Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Catalunya Moto2, RACE | Jake Dixon judges it well for second win of 2023 season

Gold & Goose

Jake Dixon held off Aron Canet to claim his second victory of the 2023 Moto2 World Championship season at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, to take a sizeable chunk out of Pedro Acosta’ series lead.

The 2018 BSB runner-up left it late to make his move on Aron Canet before resisting the Spaniard to the chequered flag to secure a well-earned 25 points, a maximum haul sweetened by modest results for Acosta and Tony Arbolino ahead of him in the standings.

The GasGas Aspar rider started from pole position and led early on but after being overtaken on lap two, proceeded spend much of the 23 lap encounter shadowing a frisky battle ahead of him between Manuel Gonzalez, Canet and Acosta before manoeuvring himself into position in the closing stages.


- 2023 Moto2 World Championship Standings -

Indeed, it was the Gonzalez and Canet that made the early running initially out-front once they’d worked their way past Dixon, the pair swapping the lead in favour of the latter on lap ten.

By this time Acosta, from ninth on the grid, had pulled himself into the lead fight, picking off Dixon for third and Gonzalez for second in consecutive laps as the race reached its half-way mark.

The Red Bull KTM Ajo rider maintained his tempo with eight laps to go as he relieved Canet of the lead, sparking an entertaining tussle between the Spaniard duo for the ensuing laps. As the race reached its crescendo, Canet upped the ante with four laps remaining courtesy of a firm overtake that pulled Dixon through with him into second place.

It was Dixon though with momentum on his side, quickly following up his pass on Acosta with a strike on Canet for first place with four laps remaining into the Turn 10 left-hander.

It was an advantage he’d hold firm into the final lap and onto the chequered flag, Dixon keeping Canet at arm’s length to secure a welcome home win for his GasGas Aspar team. 

A KTM Ajo bike joined them on the podium but it was Albert Arenas, rather than Acosta, joining Dixon and Canet on the podium after Acosta was thumped wide with three laps remaining by Alonso Lopez at Turn 1, demoting him to sixth at the flag behind fourth place Sergio Garcia and Gonzalez.

He was however well clear of Tony Arbolino, whose tough weekend concluded down in 17th place on the Marc VDS Racing bike. It means Acosta increases his lead while Arbolino has Dixon for closer company, just 22 points between the top two and the latter two.


Elsewhere, Sam Lowes brought it home in ninth position for more solid points, while Rory Skinner was…… 23rd!

2023 Catalunya Moto2 | Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Spain | Race Results | Round 11 of 20
1Jake Dixon🇬🇧GasGas AsparKalex21 Laps
2Aron Canet🇪🇦Pons Wegow Los40Kalex+0.205
3Albert Arenas🇪🇦Red Bull KTM AjoKalex+1.027
4Sergio Garcia🇪🇦Pons Wegow Los40Kalex+2.258
5Manuel Gonzalez🇪🇦Correos Pregos YamahaKalex+2.662
6Pedro Acosta🇪🇦Red Bull KTM AjoKalex+3.664
7Ai Ogura🇯🇵IDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex+4.239
8Alonso Lopez🇪🇦SpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro+4.314
9Sam Lowes🇬🇧Elf Marc VDS RacingKalex+4.607
10Celestino Vietti🇮🇹Fantic RacingKalex+8.729
11Joe Roberts🇺🇸ItaltransKalex+9.478
12Barry Baltus🇧🇪Fieten Olie Racing GPKalex+9.596
13Fermin Aldeguer🇪🇦SpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro+9.821
14Somkiat Chantra🇹🇭IDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex+10.970
15Jeremy Alcoba🇪🇦QJMOTOR GresiniKalex+11.183
16Marcos Ramirez🇪🇦American RacingKalex+11.315
17Tony Arbolino🇮🇹Elf Marc VDS RacingKalex+16.859
18Zonta van den Goorbergh🇳🇱Fieten Olie Racing GPKalex+18.347
19Lukas Tulovic🇩🇪Husqvarna IntactGPKalex+25.537
20Borja Gomez🇪🇦Fantic RacingKalex+25.788
21Dennis Foggia🇮🇹ItaltransKalex+26.188
22Mattia Rato🇮🇹Pertamina SAG TeamKalex+29.443
23Rory Skinner🇬🇧American RacingKalex+35.208
24Kohta Nozane🇯🇵Correos Pregos YamahaKalex+39.363
25Izan Guevara🇪🇦GasGas AsparKalex+52.086
26Yeray Ruiz🇪🇦Forward TeamForward+53.208
DNFFilip Salac🇨🇿QJMOTOR GresiniKalex
DNFBo Bendsneyder🇳🇱Pertamina SAG TeamKalex
DNFSenna Agius🇦🇺Husqvarna IntactGPKalex
DNFAlberto Surra🇮🇹Forward TeamForward

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram