Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Malaysian Moto2, RACE | Acosta wraps up Moto2 title as Aldeguer dominates in Sepang

Gold & Goose
Fermin Aldeguer, SpeedUp Racing, 2023 Moto2, Malaysian Moto2, Sepang [Gold & Goose]

Pedro Acosta has clinched the 2023 Moto2 World Championship title after holding his nerve to collect a second place finish and the points he needed to assure him the crown over Tony Arbolino in the Malaysian Moto2.

In a race won by Fermin Aldeguer, Acosta stayed calm in a lonely second place after Arbolino was caught up in two skirmishes that would drop him down the order and scupper his hopes of keeping his title dream alive into the penultimate round.

Though forced to play second best to Aldeguer in a race the SpeedUp Racing rider all-but-dominated, a comfortable runners-up spot on the day was the measure of a rider who has controlled proceedings since assuming the lead of the overall standings since the summer break.


Clinching the title in only his third season of grand prix racing, he now has two more events to build on his tally of seven victories and 14 podiums ahead of his step up to MotoGP with the GasGas Tech3 Racing team.

On the day, however, the race was all about the increasingly impressive Aldeguer, who brushed off contact with Manuel Gonzalez at the opening turn - a clash that took the Yamaha VR46 Master Camp rider out of the race - to stream clear of the chasing pack for his second consecutive victory.

It was a different story for Gonzalez though as he saw his hopes of securing an elusive first podium in Moto2 disappear stage left, even if he was lucky not to be struck by any one of the riders from the entire field swarming around him.

However, his fall was also instrumental in disrupting Arbolino’s attempts to keep his title dreams alive as he was almost brought to a halt trying to avoid him. Dropping him out of position, Arbolino then added insult to his own injury when a bungled attempt to overtake Aron Canet at Turn 8 on lap two instead resulted in him clipping the rear wheel of Ai Ogura.

Though he’d keep it upright, Arbolino slipped outside the top twenty and despite a valiant fight back to tenth, he’d lose his chance of staying within range of Acosta by the chequered flag.

Back at the front, Alderguer quickly built up a lead in excess of four seconds over Acosta, who in turn maintained a healthy distance back to the battle for third place.

It’s an advantage he’d protect to the flag, Aldeguer notching up his third win of the 2023 Moto2 World Championship season, a result that hauls him up to fourth in the overall standing having sat outside the top ten just four rounds earlier.

Behind, Acosta assured his coronation with second place to assure Red Bull KTM Ajo Motorsport a third consecutive title to follow on from Augusto Fernandez and Remy Gardner.

In third place, Marcos Ramirez delivered a consummate ride for his maiden Moto2 podium and a first for American Racing since 2020. The Spaniard - who started the season with Forward Racing before being called up by American Racing to replace Sean Dylan Kelly - made the most of another strong qualifying performance to fend off Ai Ogura in fourth.


Scrubbing the memories of the 2022 Malaysian Moto2 when his crash on the final lap all-but-ruined his chances of winning the title, Ogura recovered from Arbolino’s early strike to finish ahead of Jake Dixon in fifth place and team-mate Somkiat Chantra in sixth.

On a strong day for the British contingent, Sam Lowes secured his best result since the British Moto2 round with his run to seventh, ahead of Joe Roberts and Albert Arenas.

Despite his drop down the order, Arbolino put in a valiant fightback to tenth place to at least bag enough puts to secure the runners-up spot in the standings. 

Barry Baltus was also back in the points in 11th on the Fieten Olie bike, ahead of Jeremy Alcoba and Alex Escrig, the former MotoE rider scoring his first points of the season and Forward Racing’s best result of 2023, with Filip Salac and Dennis Foggia taking the final points in 14th and 15th.


In addition to Gonzalez, Aron Canet was another high-profile retirement after slipping off at Turn 2, while Austrian Moto2 winner Celestino Vietti dropped his Fantic Racing machine at Turn 8 too.

2023 Thailand Moto2 | Chang International Circuit, Buriram | RACE Results | Round 17 of 20
1Fermin Aldeguer🇪🇦SpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro22 Laps
2Pedro Acosta🇪🇦Red Bull KTM AjoKalex+3.481
3Somkiat Chantra🇹🇭IDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex+9.794
4Tony Arbolino🇮🇹Elf Marc VDS RacingKalex+12.923
5Ai Ogura🇯🇵IDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex+14.451
6Marcos Ramirez🇪🇦American RacingKalex+14.816
7Albert Arenas🇪🇦Red Bull KTM AjoKalex+15.030
8Alonso Lopez🇪🇦SpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro+18.360
9Izan Guevara🇪🇦GasGas AsparKalex+19.798
10Manuel Gonzalez🇪🇦Yamaha VR46 MasterCampKalex+20.564
11Aron Canet🇪🇦Pons Wegow Los40Kalex+20.962
12Dennis Foggia🇮🇹Italtrans Racing TeamKalex+24.198
13Jeremy Alcoba🇪🇦QJMOTOR GresiniKalex+25.593
14Sam Lowes🇬🇧Elf Marc VDS RacingKalex+26.526
15Darryn Binder🇿🇦Husqvarna IntactGPKalex+33.565
16Bo Bendsneyder🇳🇱Pertamina SAG TeamKalex+33.716
17Filip Salac🇨🇿QJMOTOR GresiniKalex+33.734
18Barry Baltus🇧🇪Fieten Olie Racing GPKalex+35.157
19Alex Escrig🇮🇹Forward TeamForward+37.586
20Rory Skinner🇬🇧American RacingKalex+42.531
21Mattia Casadei🇮🇹Fantic RacingKalex+55.552
22Kohta Nozane🇯🇵Yamaha VR46 MasterCampKalex+1m 04.820
DNFLukas Tulovic🇩🇪Husqvarna IntactGPKalex
DNFZonta van den Goorbergh🇳🇱Fieten Olie Racing GPKalex
DNFSergio Garcia🇪🇦Pons Wegow Los40Kalex
DNFCelestino Vietti🇮🇹Fantic RacingKalex
DNFJake Dixon🇬🇧GasGas AsparKalex
DNFJoe Roberts🇺🇸Italtrans Racing TeamKalex
DNFTaiga Hada🇯🇵Pertamina SAG TeamKalex
DNFAlberto Surra🇮🇹Forward TeamForward

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram