Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Phillip Island WorldSSP Results, RACE 2 | Montella resists Schroetter to double up in shortened sprint

Gold & Goose

Yari Montella got his 2024 WorldSSP Championship campaign off to a perfect start by claiming second win of the Phillip Island weekend in a much-delayed, much shortened Race 2 sprint.

The Italian made the most of a rapid opening few laps that left his rivals in his wake to hold off a late charge for victory by Marcel Schroetter in a race that ran to just nine of the original 20 laps.

Indeed, the start of the encounter would be delayed by almost two full hours over concerns about grip levels around the fast, long Turn 2 left-hander after a significant amount of oil was deposited there in the closing stages of the earlier WorldSBK race.


With the new surface raising some doubts as to whether the clean-up could offer up a safe racing line for the next race, significant time was taken to clean the asphalt before WorldSSP Race 2 could get underway. Despite misgivings from some riders on the sighting lap, the race went ahead over nine laps - without a pit-stop - and there were to be no incidents at Turn 2.

With Montella starting from pole position by virtue of setting the fastest lap in Race 1 - part of a new format that would determine the positions of front three rows - the Italian made no mistake at the lights to get the hole-shot, ahead of Schroetter and Stefano Manzi.

It would prove to be the decisive moment of the race with Montella immediately getting the hammer down on the Barni Spark Racing Ducati, leaving Schroetter in his wake and quickly opening up a gap of almost +1.5secs before the mid-way point in the race.

Steadily, however, the gap would come down, Montella finding himself in a race with the lap counter and a steadily advancing Schroetter, who found himself on the tail of the Panigale V2 coming into the final couple of laps.

However, the German - still seeking his first win in WorldSSP - couldn't forge a path past Montella ahead, leaving the ex-Moto2 rider to celebrate a second victory for a full haul of 50 points to end the opening round of 12 with.

In second, Schroetter completed a bountiful weekend with his second podium, his route to the runners-up spot assisted by having closest rival Manzi tumble out of third place with four laps remaining.

The Italian - one of the favourites for the title this season - was trailing Schroetter when he suffered a low speed low-side from his Ten Kate Yamaha. Quickly remounting, Manzi rejoined in 15th and quickly made up positions in the aftermath, only to come down again at Turn 10 with two laps remaining, putting him out of the race entirely.

His exit therefore paved the way for Adrian Huertas to end his long wait for a WorldSSP podium on the 2023 title-winning Aruba.it Ducati.

However, the Spaniard will likely come away from the weekend feeling frustrated having qualified on pole position, only for a warm-up crash that led to a technical issue to put him out of contention early on in race one.


It meant he was forced to fight back from tenth on the grid in race two, losing him the chance to contend for the win he looked certain to fight for at the start of the weekend.

In fourth, Federico Caricasulo got the better of Valentin Debise late on, the latter Frenchman making it to the flag this time as he rounded out the top five.

Bahattin Sofuoglu consolidate MV Agusta's large haul of points in sixth place, ahead of 2017 WorldSSP Champion Luca Mahias and a racy John McPhee, the Scot capitalising on a much improved starting position (seventh compared with 21st for race one) to pick up another strong eighth place result on the leading Triumph.

Lorenzo Baldassarri bounced back from his Race 1 DNF to claim ninth, ahead of fellow Ducati rider Oliver Bayliss in tenth.


Rounding out the points' paying positions would be Yeray Ruiz (VFT Yamaha), Jorge Navarro (WRP-RT Triumph), Tom Booth-Amos (PTR Triumph), Niki Tuuli (EAB Ducati) and Anupab Sarmoon (Yamaha Thailand)

2024 WorldSSP Phillip Island | RACE 2 Results

Sunday | Conditions - Overcast, dry [2 hour delayed start due to track conditions]

🇦🇺 🏁 2024 WorldSSP Results | Phillip Island | RACE 2 Results | Round 1 of 12
1Yari Montella🇮🇹BARNI Spark RacingDucati Panigale V29 Laps
2Marcel Schroetter🇩🇪MV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR0.203
3Adrian Huertas🇪🇦Aruba.it RacingDucati Panigale V2+1.658
4Federico Caricasulo🇮🇹Motozoo ME AIR RacingMV Agusta F3 800 RR+5.289
5Valentin Debise🇫🇷Evan Bros. TeamYamaha R6+5.554
6Bahattin Sofuoglu🇹🇷MV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR+5.677
7Lucas Mahias🇫🇷GMT94Yamaha R6+6.498
8John McPhee🇬🇧WRP-RT Motorsport by SKMTriumph STR 765 RS+11.798
9Lorenzo Baldassarri🇮🇹Orelac Racing VerdnaturaDucati Panigale V2+14.420
10Oliver Bayliss🇦🇺D34G RacingDucati Panigale V2+14.970
11Yeray Ruiz🇪🇦VFT RacingYamaha R6+15.241
12Jorge Navarro🇪🇦WRP-RT Motorsport by SKMTriumph STR 765 RS+15.422
13Tom Booth-Amos🇬🇧PTRTriumph STR 765 RS+15.629
14Niki Tuuli🇫🇮EAB RacingDucati Panigale V2+15.917
15Anupab Sarmoon🇹🇭Yamaha Thailand Racing TeamYamaha R6+17.182
16Can Oncu🇹🇷Kawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-6R+18.538
17Niccolo Antonelli🇮🇹Ecosantagata Althea RacingDucati Panigale V2+18.726
18Tom Toparis🇦🇺Stop & Seal RacingYamaha R6+19.643
19Ondrej Vostatek🇨🇿PTRTriumph STR 765 RS+20.266
20Glenn van Straalen🇳🇱Ten Kate RacingYamaha R6+21.360
21Kaito Toba🇯🇵Petronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR+21.396
22Krittapat Keankum🇹🇭Yamaha Thailand Racing TeamYamaha R6+31.514
23Khairul Idham Bin Pawi🇲🇾Petronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR31.675
24Hikari Okubo🇯🇵Vince64 Racing by PuccettiKawasaki ZX-6R+33.089
25Marcel Brenner🇨🇭Viamo RacingKawasaki ZX-6R+44.052
DNFStefano Manzi🇮🇹Ten Kate RacingYamaha R6-
DNSPiotr Biesiekirski🇵🇱Ecosantagata Althea RacingDucati Panigale V2-

Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit | Lap Records - WorldSSP

🇦🇺 ⏱️ 🏁 Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit| Lap Records - WorldSSP
-RiderNatTeamBikeLap TImeYearClassification
-Andrea Locatelli🇬🇧BARDAHL Evan Bros. Racing Yamaha R61m 32.1762020All-Time Lap Record
-Sandro Cortese🇬🇧GRTYamaha R61m 33.0122018Best Race Lap
-Stefano Manzi🇹🇷Ten Kate RacingYamaha R61m 32.81420232023 Superpole

2024 WorldSBK & WorldSSP Phillip Island | Schedule & Programme

🇦🇺 ⏱️ 🏁 2024 WorldSBK & WorldSSP Phillip Island Schedule
-DayChampionshipSessionTime [Local]Time [UK +11h]
-23 Feb - FRIWorldSSPFP110.25 - 11.0523.25 (THUR) - 00.05
-23 Feb - FRIWorldSBKFP111.20 - 12.0500.20 - 01.05
-23 Feb - FRIWorldSSPSuperpole14.55 - 15.3503.55 - 04.35
-23 Feb - FRIWorldSBKFP216.00 - 16.4505.00 - 05.45
-24 Feb - SATWorldSBKFP310.00 - 10.2023.00 (FRI) - 23.20
-24 Feb - SATWorldSSPWarm-Up10.30 - 10.4023.30 (FRI) - 23.40
-24 Feb - SATWorldSBKSuperpole13.00 - 13.1502.00 - 02.15
-24 Feb - SATWorldSSPRACE 114.3003.30
-24 Feb - SATWorldSBKRACE 116.0005.00
-25 Feb - SUNWorldSBKWarm-Up10.30 - 10.4023.30 (SAT) - 23.40
-25 Feb - SUNWorldSSPWarm-Up10.50 - 11.0023.50 - 00.00
-25 Feb - SUNWorldSBKSUPERPOLE RACE13.0002.00
-25 Feb - SUNWorldSSPRACE 214.3003.30
-25 Feb - SUNWorldSBKRACE 216.0005.00

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram