Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


BSB Knockhill Qualifying Results | Glenn Irwin denies Ryan Vickers for pole

Tim Keeton/Impact Images
Glenn Irwin, BeerMonster Ducati, Ducati Panigale V4 R, 2023 BSB, Knockhill, action [credit - Gold & Goose]

Glenn Irwin claimed his first pole position of the British Superbike Championship season as he pipped Ryan Vickers to the top spot at Knockhill.

The BeerMonster Ducati rider edged out the resurgent the LAMI OMG Racing Yamaha rider by 0.067secs, with Jason O’Halloran on the McAMS Yamaha completing the front row.

Irwin was quickest out of the blocks with a 47.457s lap on his first flying lap which put him ahead of the OMG Racing pairing of Kyle Ryde and Vickers, Leon Haslam (ROKiT BMW Motorrad), Danny Buchan (Synetiq BMW) and Josh Brookes (FHO Racing BMW) but second time around, Vickers went to the top of the leaderboard with a time of 47.225s.


Ryde moved up to second as Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings Kawasaki) jumped up to fourth with O’Halloran and Charlie Nesbitt (MasterMac Honda by Hawk Racing) rounding out the top six but O’Halloran was next to make a move as he went second quickest.

However, this soon became third as Irwin responded with a lap of 47.158s which put him at the top of the timesheets once more albeit by only 0.067s and at the halfway point of the session the order was Irwin, Vickers, O’Halloran, Ryde, Haslam and Jackson. 

Storm Stacey (Starline Racing Kawasaki) was again impressing in seventh, but championship leader Tommy Bridewell was down in ninth on the second BeerMonster Ducati with Brookes having slipped back to tenth. With three minutes to go though, the Australian moved up to sixth.

He was soon pushed down a spot by Nesbitt who slotted into fifth but there were to be no further changes and Irwin took the pole from Vickers and O’Halloran with row two comprising Ryde, the impressive Nesbitt and Haslam.

Brookes, Stacey, Jackson and Bridewell completed the top ten but Buchan, double victor from 2021, could only manage 15th.

BSB Knockhill | Qualifying Results

2023 British Superbike Championship [BSB] | Knockhill | Qualifying Results | Round 4 / 11
1Glenn IrwinGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V447.158
2Ryan VickersGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R147.225
3Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMSYamaha R147.273
4Kyle RydeGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R147.372
5Charlie NesbittGBRMasterMac by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R47.408
6Leon HaslamGBRROKiT BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR47.434
7Josh BrookesAUSFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR47.461
8Storm StaceyGBRStarline RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR47.462
9Lee JacksonGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR47.496
10Tommy BridewellGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V447.523
11Jack KennedyIRLMar-Train RacingYamaha R147.617
12Christian IddonGBROxford RacingDucati Panigale V447.662
13Dean HarrisonGBRDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR47.812
14Josh OwensGBRCrendon by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R47.821
15Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR47.830
16Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR47.848
17Luke MosseyGBRTactix L1 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR47.882
18Max CookGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR47.890
19Tom NeaveGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R48.083
20Bradley PerieGBRVisionTrack RacngKawasaki ZX-10RR48.206
21Jack ScottGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR48.271
22Hector BarberaESPTAG RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R48.409
23Liam DelvesGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR48.420
24Danny KentGBRLovell Kent RacingHonda CBR1000RR-RNo Time

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram